Lyn and Denny Kaulback win prestigious Theatre BC award

Denny (left and Lyn Kaulback pose with Jeff Hyslop of Phantom of the Opera fame during the Theatre BC awards ceremony in Kamloops Saturday when they were presented with a Diamond of the Year Award for their achievements in theatre. Don Rampone photo

Lyn and Denny Kaulback were presented with Theatre BC’s prestigious Diamond of the Year Award for significant achievement during this year’s Main Stage awards  ceremony in Kamloops on Saturday.

The TBC Executive reviewed the nominees for this year’s Diamond Award very carefully,” said the text of the award presentation script. “One particular submission stood out above all others. The last year has proved to be extremely challenging for this theatre group from a company point of view. They lost their performance space. A small band of members gathered together to find a new home, build a set, audition, cast, rehearse and perform a two-week run of their play. In addition they helped with organizing and fund raising in order to accommodate three theatre companies and participants in order to host a very successful Zone Festival.

“For 35 years the nominees, by their leadership have inspired their own group and the Theatre BC family as a whole, by their commitment, dedication and love of theatre. Ladies and gentlemen on behalf of Theatre BC it gives me great pleasure to introduce to you the Diamond Award Recipients for 2012… Denny and Lyn Kaulback from Revelstoke Theatre Company.”

The award was one of three presented to Revelstoke Theatre Company members,” said Martin Ralph in an e-mail to The Current.

“I won the Graphics Award for Best Website and we also won the Graphics Award for Best Program – Kootenay Zone Festival (Jordan MacMillan), and an honourable mention for Best Poster – Kootenay Zone Festival (Jordan MacMillan).

“Other than that, we did not bring home any thespian awards for our Mending Fences production. Vernon’s Power House Theatre production of The Woman In Black, swept the awards for top honours. Other winners have not yet been published, but are expected on Wednesday on the Theatre BC Mainstage website.”