Award-winning high school students

Award-winning students pose for the camera after the Revelstoke Secondary School's awards ceremony on Thursday. David F. Rooney photo

Here, courtesy of Revelstoke Secondary School, is a list of all the students who won awards during Thursday’s Awards Ceremony at RSS:

Athletic Awards:

Level 3 athletic awards (outstanding performance in 1 or more sports)


Sayge Fisher (volleyball)

Chris Andrews (Volleyball, BasketBall, Track)

Taylor Barnes (volleyball)

Bronte Viznaugh (volleyball, Basketball)

Ainslee Arthurs (volleyball)

Christine Batke (volleyball, Basketball)

Jonas Burke (volleyball)

Matt Tetrault (volleyball)

Devin Camara (volleyball)

Courtney Smith (basketball)

Shep Howatt (basketball)

Aziz Van Gassen (Basketball)

Brandon Howe (basketball)

Delyth Harper (track)

Laura Richardson (soccer)

Harley Reiner (soccer)

Brady Blake (golf)

Shayne Grimmer (golf)

Chris Dhillon (golf)

Emily Unterberger (XC)

John Yakielashek (XC)

Dominic Unterberger (XC)

Emily Pfeiffer (swimming)

Wylie Harder (swimming)

Christina Hui (swimming)

Level 2 Athletics: Recognize the top athletes of 2011 for their respective age levels.

Top Grade 8 Female:           Amy Gagnon

Top Grade 8 Male:        Rhys Evans

Top Junior Female:     Megan Evans

Top Junior Male:         Peter Behncke

Top Senior Female:       Ellie Bay

Top Senior Male:     Eric Schwenck

Level 1:  Athletics (Trophies)


Joseph Naccarato Award Athletic Academic Junior:  Kirill Dubrovskiy

Athletic – Academic (Senior) Emily Smith


John Campbell Award (outstanding dedication and effort in extra curricular activities  – noted for their positive attitude and outstanding role model potential)

Alex Wadey, Byron Conacher

Bernard Nelson trophy is awarded to the top athlete at RSS : Brittany Evans


1.  French

French 8:   Sonia Schwenck

French 9:  David Podstawka and Annick Langlois

French 10:    Tayller Mclean

French 11:    John Podstawka

Intro German 11:         Bronte Viznaugh


2.  English

En 8:     Jessie Booker

En 9:       Lachlan Hicks

En 10:              Bronte Viznaugh

Communications 11:     Leah Bruner

Communications 12:      Brandon Emmerson

En 11:        Ellie Bay and Leslie Opatril

En 12:         Alei Mohr

3. Social Studies

SS 8 =  Jacqueline Cottingham

SS 9 =  Tashi Townley

SS10= Tayller McLean

SS11=    Brittany Evans

First nations 12: Michelle Barisoff

Geography 12 =  Cam Kaegi

SS12 (History 12)=      Catherine Dyck

Law 12:         Cam Kaegi

History/geography combined:         Cam Kaegi

4.  Science

Science 8:  –   Rhys Evans and Jaqueline Cottingham

Science 9   –    John Yakielashek

Science 10 – Tayller Mclean

Science 11 –      Florina Beglinger

BC Science Council award for the top grade 12 science student.  Alei Mohr

Don Scott –        for outstanding dedication and effort in Sr. sciences:

Emma Magarian and Emily Smith

5.         Commerce Awards

Info – tech 9:         David Podstawka

Digital Media 11:         Joel Flick

Digital Media 12:         Ben Beruschi

Applied Digital Communications (Business 11): Michelle Jones


6.  Home Economics and Woodwork awards

JR Home Ec Student:     Lilly-jo Pierlot

Senior Home Ec:       Michelle Jones

Jr woodwork 9:            Lachlan Hicks

Jr woodwork 10:      Eric Austin

Sr carpentry and joinery:  Ewan Urquhart

7. Mechanics Awards:

Jr Auto:          James Dyck

Top Mx student 11/12:        Josh Babak

CUPE Top IE Student:     Landon Rahn

8.  Physical education

PE 8:       Rhys Evans

PE 9:       Lachlan Hicks

PE 10:       Kirill Dubrovskiy

PE 11: Eric Schwenck

PE 12:       Wylie Harder

9.  Mathematics

math 8:       Jayda Park

math 9:       Jaqueline Cottingham

Apps math 10:     Christine Batke

Math 10:     John Yakielashek

Apps math 11:    Corbin Benum

Math 11:       Ellie Bay

Math 12/Calculus 12:    Alei Mohr and Charlotte Beglinger

10.       Visual Art

Visual Art 8 – Jessie Booker

Visual Art 9 – Madeline Brown and Tamara May

Visual Art 10 – Christine Batke

Art Foundations 11 – Amanda Lang

Art Foundations 12 – Richelle Cotterhill

Top Visual Media Arts Student – Alex Saar and Jason Kepler

Top Visual Arts Student – Simmone Kessler   (PLAQUE)


11.   Band

RSS Choir:         Alex Wadey

Jazz 8: Grayson Gould

Concert Band 8: Breanne Wallach

Jazz 9: Kelsey Spannier

Concert Band 9: Annick Langlois

Jazz 10:  Taylor Masson

Concert Band 10: Madison Zmaeff

Jazz 11:  Leslie Opatril

Concert Band 11: Delyth Harper

Jazz 12: Alex Wadey

Concert Band 12: Alei Mohr

Top Overall Music Student:  Alex Wadey


12.  Drama –

Grade 8 :   Keeley Braun

Grade 9    – Taryn Walker

grade 10 Drama –  Naomi Millsop – Melancon

grade 11 Drama – Jessie Fitzmaurice

grade 12 –  Felicia Van Leur


Top Drama student – Krista Barstad   (medal + trophy)

Top Fine Arts Student –   Karina Foisy         (medal + torphey)

Aboriginal Student Recognition Award

These students have pride in their Aboriginal ancestry are motivated to learn about their heritage. They have demonstrated success in their courses taken this year and are a role model/mentor to other students

Senior:            Drew Roberts and Michelle Barisoff (plaque)

Catherine Dyck                           Charlotte Beglinger,

Karina Foisy                           Florina Beglinger

Michelle Barisoff                           Christina Hui

Jacob Wallach                           Delyth Harper

Alei Mohr                                    Byron Conacher

Hannah Brackenbury                  Marissa Sessa

Ellie Bay                                    Emma Magarian

Emily Smith


Junior Citizenship – Jake Wallach and Braeden Lenzi      

Senior Citizenship – Karina Foisy and Brady Blake

Top Students in each Grade

Grade 8

Runner up Grade 8’s

Rhys Evans, Emily Suchy, Sonia Schwenck

Top Grade 8: Maxine Opatril

Grade 8 Top Student Runner-up: Jacqueline Cottingham

Grade 9

3 time principals (4th, 5th, 6th runner ups)

Ainslee Arthurs, Trevor Galicano, Kelsey Spannier

Runner up Grade 9:

Megan Evans, Lachlan Hicks,  Nicholas Saar

Top Grade 9:   John Yakielashek

Top Grade 9 Runner-up: Emily Unterberger


Grade 10

Runner up Grade 10:

Tayller Mclean, Peter Behncke, Bronte Viznaugh

Top Grade 10:     Kirill, Dubrovskiy


Grade 11

3 time principals (4th, 5th, 6th runner ups):

Adrien Maitre, Megan Davies, Brady Blake

Runner up Grade 11:

Brittany Evans, Florina Beglinger, Leslie Opatril

Top Grade 11:   Ellie Bay

Grade 12

Runner up Grade 12:  (medals all)

Emily Smith,   Alei Mohr,    Alex Wadey

Top Grade 12:      Charlotte Beglinger

(trophy and medal)

The Henretta Nelson award is awarded to the student with the best combined average in their grade 11 and 12 years combined:         Alei Mohr


Best All-Around student: awarded to the student who

1)   academically  has no mark less than 70% in all grade 11 and 12 courses

2)  provides a valuable service  to the school

3)  is an active participant in school athletics

4)  is seen as a positive role model by staff and peers.